For Sale, Wanted or to Hire Wanted a newbie pig fancier – introduction

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Ok please be gentle with me!! My name is Michael and I hope you don’t mind me writing an introduction about myself ..

I have been thinking for years about keeping some gloucester Old Spots as my grandmother had them on her farm. Now I have my own smallholding on the shropshire/welsh border (near Shrewsbury … and just outside Welshpool).But i am a part time farmer only … I also work but mainly from home these days. I also breed, show and judge dogs. And have horses too!

I am a practical person that likes to rear my own food (including veg and fruit) … i keep rare breed poultry (about 30 in the flock of Wyandottes & Marans) ) and rare breed sheep (3 Shropshires, 6 Lincolns) … and although my initial sheep will always be my pets I have a few lambs each year from them for the freezer and keep the odd ewe lamb to increase my breeding flock and with the chickens also I rear a few cockerels each year for the pot.

So pigs … where do i start? does any one live close to me that would be able to help and advice me … i am a good listener … a quick learner and the pigs would be very well looked after with the best food that i could provide and the greatest care.

#6795 Reply
    Anonymous

Hi Michael, sounds like your doing a great job, I live near Bridgnorth, shropshire. like you I am a part time smallholder, but only just starting , I have just reared my first 4 weaners who went to slaughter about two weeks ago, although I am sure there are things I can do better with my next, lovely little lot of porkers( ready in about six weeks) I was really pleased with the results. Pigs are a bit addictive, I really enjoyed rearing my GOS weaners,I am already thinking about breeding my own !! I have also just purcased my first meat birds and my chucks have just started laying, Hope you get lots of advice from this forum as I need loads too.