This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Judith 11th September 2012 at 10:33 am.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

I really don’t want to take up too much of people’s time but I have a few questions I wanted to ask. I am new to GOS pig keeping and just had our first litter. I’m about to advertise them but wasn’t sure on a few things:
    1. I have metal ear tags for identifying the pigs which I have used in the past for white pigs (before we went the GOS route) but notice many use ear tattoo. My tags just have my holding number, and are not individually numbered. I’m just a bit unclear of what I should use? Ideally I’d like to use my metal tags as I have the kit.
    2. All my litter will be birth registered but I have noticed that some of you advertise as being suitable for pedigree registration. How is this based?? How do you decide what is good breeding stock. Is that just based on experience of how the gilts are built/look?

Thanks for your help.

Matt

Judith
    Participant

Hello and welcome to GOS pig keeping
    First of all how are you identifying your pedigree pigs for birth notification.
    Judith

Judith

oaklandspigs
    Participant

Pigs need identifying for two puposes
    1. legal
    2. Pedigree